Photographer of the Year 2015
(Click on any photo to enlarge.)
(Page updated 05.21.15)

Category A -- "Illinois & Adjacent States taken in 2014" (36 entries)

First Place and Photographer
Of The Year

Gilbert Sebenste

CP Holiday Train from bluffs overlooking Sabula, IA.


Second Place

Gary Morgan

Nighttime capture of the NS Wabash Heritage on the IAIS at the Rock Island depot in Chillicothe, IL.

Third Place

Gary Morgan

Nighttime capture of the NS Central RR of New Jersey Heritage on the CN at Galena,IL.

Category B -- "Anytime Anyplace"
(Images recorded over many years and any locations - (37 entries)

First Place

Mark Nelson
CB&Q freight from the tower at Rochelle, IL on July 18, 1965..

Second Place

Erik Rasmussen  
IAIS "Blue hour" glint
at Bureau, IL.
Third Place (tie)

Mike Raia

Rio Grande narrow gauge 489
at Lava, CO.


Third Place (tie)

Terry Norton

MILW passenger train at Grayslake, IL depot in
February 1964.


Category C -- "Photos That Were Innovative"
(Photographers encouraged to come up with very creative photos, either by the manner in which the image was recorded or via dark room/computer program manipulation - (25 entries.)

First Place

Lance Wales
CB&Q bridge at Milledgeville, IL with the Nebraska Zephyr
in the clouds.

Second Place

Erik Rasmussen
SP Daylight 4449 at Milwaukee, WI in black and white with selective coloring.
Third Place

Mark Nelson
Pulled over by the police in Cutler, WI on April 27, 1980 with
CNW train and police car
in the side mirror.

[ Return to Photographer of the Year ]

Chapter address

North Western Illinois Chapter - NRHS
P.O. Box 5632
Rockford, IL 61125-0632